EDINBURG – Commissioners Court recognized and honored Elections Administrator Yvonne Ramón for being elected president of the Texas Association of Elections during the 37th Annual Election Law Seminar held in Austin.

Ramón has been a member of TAEA for 11 years, and before becoming president, she was elected as Secretary, Treasurer, and then Vice-President. As president, she will oversee the TAEA membership, which consists of 350 elections administrators and elections staff who represent each of the 254 counties in the state.

“This is an honor to be standing here today, not only because I have represented the county of Hidalgo going on almost 12 years, but I also get to be a representative of the Texas Association of Elections Administrators which is all 254 counties," said Ramón.

Ramón said she will use her knowledge and experience to promote efficient integration of voter registration functions with the actual conduct of elections and ensure that voter registration, voting and vote tabulation are all carried out in accordance with the highest legal and ethical standards.

Ramón was joined in court by her family, including husband John Ramón, their children, Laura, Gilbert, and Robert, as well as her granddaughter.