HIDALGO COUNTY –Hidalgo County has been granted a 60 day federal assistance window in order for affected residents to register for federal assistance with FEMA. President Donald J. Trump approved a federal disaster request for Individual Assistance for Cameron and Hidalgo County on Friday, July 6 for the flooding event that occurred on June 19, 20 and 21.

September 6 is the last day to apply for disaster assistance.

Disaster assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.

To file for disaster assistance you must have the following available:

·        Address with zip code of damaged property

·        Directions to your property

·        Condition of your damaged home

·        Insurance information, if available

·        Social Security number

·        Phone number where you can be contacted

·        Address where you can receive mail

When you register, you will receive a FEMA registration number. Write down your number and save it. You will need the number whenever you contact FEMA for any follow up questions.

Once your registration is received, a FEMA representative will call you to schedule a visit. Please note you will be called from a non-local phone number. FEMA does not charge for any service and will present appropriate identification at your door step.

For more information on filing claims call the FEMA HOTLINE 1.800.621.3362 or register online at DisasterAssistance.gov.