EDINBURG – The Edinburg Consolidated Independent School District recently announced its 2017-2018 Teachers of the Year Finalists. The selection committee narrowed the field from 43 of the District’s top teachers down to eight due to ties in both the elementary and secondary categories.

The elementary school finalists are Vanessa Guzman, Brewster School; Roel De La Fuente, Esparza Elementary School; Alejandro Manuel Requenez; Guerra Elementary School; and Valerie Flores, Lincoln Elementary School.

The secondary school finalists are Laura Garza, Barrientes Middle School; Zulema Rodriguez, Longoria Middle School; Mariana De Los Santos, Memorial Middle School; and Samuel J. Milligan, Edinburg North High School.

After carefully scoring and reading each essay-style application, the judges ranked the top teachers and discovered they had a tie in each of the two categories.

“The judges just couldn’t narrow it down to three teachers in each of the categories and felt very strongly about the four finalists,” said Mara Moats, Edinburg CISD Staff Development Coordinator. “I believe this shows the strong caliber of the teachers we have in our District.”

The eight finalists will now complete a state application, will be videotaped and will be interviewed by the selection committee.  The top two teachers are expected to be announced in May.