Angelisa Rendon was selected Youth of the Year for the Boys & Girls Clubs of Edinburg RGV at the Annual “Steak” In Your Community event on January 14, 2017. Along with the title, Rendon will also receive a $3,000 scholarship, courtesy of the Tom & Jody Aderhold Endowed Youth of the Year Scholarship Program, the Victor A. Guerra Memorial Scholarship and the Ella de la Rosa Endowed Female Leadership Memorial Scholarship.

Rendon is among hundreds of local youth across the country recognized by Boys & Girls Club of America (BGCA) for her sound character, leadership skills and willingness to give back to the community.

Being named Youth of the Year is the highest honor a Boys & Girls Club member can receive. The title recognizes outstanding contributions to a member’s family, school, community and Boys & Girls Club, as well as personal challenges and obstacles overcome. This program was founded over 60 years ago through the generosity of the Reader’s Digest Foundation.

Rendon has been involved in the Boys & Girls Clubs of Edinburg RGV for the past four years.  She is currently a senior at BETA, a member of TAFE, and is an active community volunteer serving over 270 hours as a Boys & Girl Club  Jr. Staff member & at the Laura P. Andrews Paws Center over the summer.

The top three finalists were 2nd runner up Victoria Huerta, 3rd runner up Gwen Montemayor, and the Youth of the Year Angelisa Rendon.  Each will receive a scholarship in the amount of $3,000.00, $500.00 and $1,250.00 respectively. Gwen Montemayor, who is a senior at Robert Vela High School will also receive a $1,000 Victor A. Guerra Memorial Scholarship.  Other contenders were Angel Garcia, Jennifer Pena, Jose Barba, and Alejandra Luebanos.

“I’m so excited that this year we had 7 outstanding recipients, that each had a very impactful presentation, that showed how much the club helps young people move closer to their future dreams and aspirations.  I commend Angelisa for so eloquently sharing her journey and I’m excited that she now, with the help of this scholarship will reach her educational destination,” said Sabrina Walker-Hernandez, Chief Executive Officer, Boys & Girls Clubs of Edinburg RGV.

Judges in the Youth of the Year Competition included Dustin Garza, Hidalgo County Pct #4, Dr. Pablo Tagle- Chiropractic Wellness & Spa, Joe E. Chance- Retired, Judge Toribio “Terry” Palacios, Antonio Alvarez, IBC Bank, Jesse Deleon, Amigos Imports and Millie Smith, Texas National Bank.